Catholic Union announces centenary awards

By Rita Joseph

New Delhi, August 14, 2019: People who have made outstanding contributions in different fields will be presented the Centenary Awards’ of the All India Catholic Union (AICU).

A national symposium on “Constitution and Minorities” will mark the three-day centenary celebrations to be held in New Delhi from August 23.

Justice (retired) Kurian Joseph will deliver the keynote address. Nabam Tuki, former chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh, will be the chief guest on the inaugural day, Lancy D’Cunha, AICU president told a press conference at Mangaluru on August 14.

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Minister for Minority Affairs, will be the chief guest at the concluding ceremony. The chief ministers of New Delhi, Meghalaya and Andhra Pradesh will be present as the guests of honor.

The program will also witness an award ceremony to honor people for their contribution in various fields like media, environment, public affairs, sports and social activism, said D’Cunha and announced the winners.

They are: Ospison Linus Marbaniang, Meghalaya, for media. He started the ‘Khasi Daily Mawphor’ newspaper and spread awareness creation on issues in the Indo-Bangladesh villages.

Jeeth Milan Roche of Mangalore, Karnataka, bagged the environment award. He has planted 100,000 saplings in public places. He is also the recipient of Environmentalist Award 2016 from Pollution Control Board and Aranya Mitra award 2013 from Forest department.

The sports award went to Rubina Francis, Jabalpur Madhya Pradesh, a gold medalist in 10m pistol shooting at Para Olympics.

Livinus K Kindo, Orissa claimed the Public Affairs prize. The IAS official is recipient of the Indian President’s ‘Best District Census Officer’ 1982. The tribal officer served as Transport Commissioner and Director of Fisheries.

Kasber Augustine Chakalakal, Mumbai, Maharashtra was picked for the social activist’s award. Founder of ‘Thane Citizens Foundation,’ he resolved waste management issues covering 1,500 houses and was also instrumental in reuniting seven destitute with their families and providing medical help.

The jury members comprised: Father Vijay Victor Lobo, national secretary, Signis India (World Catholic Association for Communication), Patrick Rajesh Minz, Mumbai, Hyacynth Sophia, Principal, Kollam, Kerala, Advocate James Sylvester, Hyderabad and Titus Noronha, Mangaluru.

The panelists of the symposium include senior Supreme Court advocate and author M P Raju and activist and journalist John Dayal. Auxiliary Bishop Theodore Mascarenhas of Ranchi will be the moderator.

Cardinal Oswald Gracias, Archbishops Peter Machado of Bangalore and Anil Joseph Couto of Delhi, bishops from various dioceses and other leading dignitaries from across the country will grace the occasion, D’Cunha said.

All India Catholic Union (AICU), founded in Madras in 1919, is a Pan-India organization representing 20 million Catholics in the country.

Winners of National Level Poster Painting competition conducted by AICU for the youths would also be given prizes on the occasion.

Students from grades 7 to 10 and from 11th grade to 25 years of age were divided into two categories. Nature – God’s Gift was the topic for the first Category and Love Your Neighbour – Sensitivity & Love towards Our Brothers & Sisters for the second, an AICU release said.

CATEGORY I winners : 1. Godwin, Kumbakonam; 2. Venisha Fiona Mascarenhas, Mangaluru; 3. Steve Menezes, Udupi; 4. Anne Lisa Augustine, New Delhi; 5. Allen Kujur, Bareily (U P).

CATEGORY II : 1. Neilesh Rasquinha, Mangaluru; 2. Edzel Lewis, Udupi; 3. Shanelle Anne Mathias, Udupi; 4. Jeevan Killo, Vishakapatanam; 5. Milosha Patra, Goa.

Have Something to Say? Comment on Facebook

1 thought on “Catholic Union announces centenary awards

Leave a Response